Haddock with homemade Potato Wedges and Tomato-Sugar-Snap stir fry

I think Easter is the perfect time for some homemade fish and chips! I invented this “healthy” version (ok ok, it is battered!) of the English classic because I don’t like making chips at home, you will never find a chip pan in my kitchen. In addition, I don’t like mushy peas or beans (at least not those out of a can). So I needed to think of an alternative. Since I love sugar snaps and tomatoes, I thought I can play with those guys a little bit. Regarding the fish, I go for the lazy version again today and make ready to roll frozen haddock. If you fancy cod instead of haddock go for it.

For two persons you need: 

  • 2 Frozen Haddock Loins (I used Sainsbury’s Taste the difference fish)
  • 3 Medium Size Potatoes
  • 1 Package Sugar Snaps (trimmed)
  • 1 Package Cherry Tomatoes
  • 2 Garlic Gloves
  • Salt, Pepper, dried Chillies, Paprika
  • Olive oil

Cut the potatoes into wedges, drizzle some olive oil on top, season well with salt, pepper, paprika and chilli if you like it hot. Put them on a backing tray and put them in a preheated oven (220 degrees). Give them 10 minutes before you add the frozen fish on the tray. Cook the fish according to instruction, should be around 35 minutes. Turn fish and wedges from time to time and check if cooked well before you serve it.

Steam sugar snaps for 3-4 minutes, drain and leave aside. Cut tomatoes in halves, crush garlic and roast for couple of minutes in some olive oil. Add sugar snaps, stir for 2 minutes, add tomatoes and fry for another two minutes. Season well with salt and pepper. The only tricky bit in this case is that you have to make sure you have the wedges, fish and veg ready to go at the same time.

Enjoy this light and healthy version of fish and chips with some brown sauce and a Guinness. I’m going alcohol free this weekend so I added some HP Guinness brown sauce to my fish – delicious!

Leave a Reply

